Raising the Ocean's voice

Raising awareness through scientific research and support of frugal and lowtech initiative through sustainable sailing.

Sciences

Contribute to the global effort of understanding the marine microbiome through non-invasive data acquisition, frugal and low-tech innovations and open and participatory science.

Awareness

Become an actor of the preservation of lakes and oceans by understanding them.

OUR MISSIONS

RELIER
marine science with academic studies

ENCOURAGER
future engineers to practice field science and toexplore and discover the mysteries of aquatic environments

DEVELOPPER
instruments from frugal sciences capable of providing measures that are rigorous and standardized

SENSIBILISER
through knowledge for the protection of aquatic ecosystems and to the Low-Tech philosophy

PRATIQUER
a field science, less invasive, less polluting and more environmentally friendly

OUR EXPEDITIONS

Atlantea

 October 2023 – December 2024

Atlantea mark the beginning of the Mission Plankton. Its crew is involved in research in the plankton to deepen our understanding of the marine microbiome. For more than 12 months, they ride the waters in the Atlantic ocean from Brittany to the West Africa, Greenland, the Caribbean and Canada.

Alpine Lake

 February 2024

The expedition Alpine Lake marked the second stage of our Mission Plankton, following Atlantea closely. Designed to bring students closer to field science, this adventure has brought together twenty students for 10 days. This test platform we have created studied the Lake Geneva, developing our various tools.

Arvor

 July 2024 August 2024

The last expedition of the Plankton Mission, Arvor will make the transition to our new projects. This expedition, organized in partnership with the Pacific Foundation, will take place over 3 weeks between the coasts of Brittany and the south of England, via the Isles of Scilly and Skomer Island. In all, around twenty students will have the chance to go on board the Mauritus to study the marine microbiome.

Camp Ocean

 May 18, 2024

Camp Ocean is a day organized by Sailowtech and Luc Voile of Lausanne. It will take place in the Cercle of the Voile de Vidy and the program is the following : introduction to sailing, conferences, lectures, workshops ... plunge into the world of navigation, frugal science and participatory science and Low-tech !

Photo de deux bateaux lors du camp océan 2023

Vivapoly

 May 23, 2024

We are be pleased to be present at the new edition of Vivapoly. We will be under the arches of the Rolex Learning Center. Vivapoly is the feast of the campus EPFL. This event is open to everyone : the apprentices to the professors, phd students to the administrators, not to mention the students ! 

Fêtes maritimes

 July 18-21, 2024

Alongside Pacifique, we will be at Maritime festivals of Douarnenez few days before the start of our Arvor expedition.
On this occasion we will present you our tools and various projects on the Mauritius.

OUR AMBASSADOR

We are proud to have at our side, Justine Mettraux. The renowned Swiss skipper, regarded as one of the best navigators of her generation has won two editions of The Ocean Race and will take the start of the next Vendée Globe. Justine perfectly embodies the spirit of challenge and determination of our team. Her unwavering commitment and her remarkable journey across the oceans of the world make it a source of inspiration for us all.

Portrait de Justine Mettraux

TESTIMONIALS

It's extremely inspiring and innovative to develop a model that enables other students to share their skills in the service of science and exploration and a better understanding of the ocean, while at the same time raising awareness!

Emmanuelle Périé-Bardout, Founder of Under The Pole et Atlantea's godmother

The key to saving our oceans lies in reconnecting people with their love for its inhabitants. Will then a deep respect, leading to a natural willingness of protection.

Sailowtech : a vibrancy out of the ordinary at the height of challenges to meet !

Guilhem Bench Prandi

Founder WeSea.org and Scientific Coordinator of the Transnational Red Sea Center

More than just a dream expedition·, the students of the Sailowtech project are proposing a frugal, participative and low-tech scientific practice, offering a concrete path to reintegrate scientific research within planetary limits.

Let's make sure as many researchers as possible·follow in their footsteps!

Michka Mélo

Design Consultant responsible for the VPT EPFL

Arthur Jacobs

Faire résonner la voix de l'Océan

Éveiller les consciences grâce à la recherche scientifique et soutenir les initiatives frugales et low-tech par une navigation respectueuse de l’environnement.

Sciences

Contribuer à l’effort mondial de compréhension du microbiome marin grâce à des acquisitions de données non-invasives, des innovations frugales et low-tech et à de la science ouverte et participative.

Sensibilisation

Devenir acteur·trice de la préservation des lacs et océans rendant accessible la compréhension de l’environnment aquatique.

NOS MISSIONS

Relier
les sciences marines avec les études académiques

Encourager
les futur·e·s ingénieur·e·s à pratiquer les sciences de terrain et à explorer et découvrir les mystères des milieux aquatiques

Développer
des instruments issus des sciences frugales, capables d’assurer des mesures rigoureuses et standardisées

Sensibiliser
par la connaissance à la protection des écosystèmes aquatiques et à la philosophie Low-Tech

Pratiquer
une science de terrain moins invasive, moins polluante et plus respectueuse de l’environnement

NOS EXPEDITIONS

Atlantea

 Octobre 2023 – Décembre 2024

L’expédition à bord d’Atlantea marque le début de la Mission Plancton. Son équipage s’est engagé dans la recherche du plancton pour approfondir notre compréhension du microbiome marin. Pendant plus de 12 mois, ils parcourront les eaux de l’océan Atlantique, de la Bretagne à l’Afrique de l’Ouest, en passant par le Groenland, les Caraïbes et le Canada.

Alpine Lake

 Février 2024

L’expédition Alpine Lake a marqué la seconde étape de notre Mission Plancton, suivant de près Atlantea. Conçue pour rapprocher davantage les étudiant·e·s de l’EPFL de la science de terrain, cette aventure a réuni une vingtaine d’étudiant.e.s pendant 10 jours. Cette plateforme de test nous a permi d’étudier le microbiome lacustre de notre cher Léman tout en perfectionnant nos différents outils.

Arvor

 Juillet 2024 – Août 2024

Dernière expédition de la Mission Plancton, Arvor fera la transition avec nos nouveaux projets. Cette expédition, organisée en partenariat avec la fondation Pacifique aura lieu pendant plus de 3 semaines entre les côtes de la Bretagne et du sud de l’Angleterre, en passant par les îles Scilly et l’île Skomer. Au total, une vingtaine d’étudiant.e.s aura la chance de partir à bord du Mauritus afin d’étudier le microbiome marin.

NOS PROCHAINS EVENEMENTS

Le Camp Océan

 18 mai 2024

Le Camp Océan est une journée organisée par Sailowtech et le Luc Voile de Lausanne. Elle aura lieu au Cercle de la Voile de Vidy et au programme : initiation à la voile, conférences, workshops … De quoi vous plonger dans le monde de la navigation, des sciences frugales et participatives et de la philosophie Low-tech !

Photo de deux bateaux lors du camp océan 2023

Vivapoly

 23 mai 2024

Nous serons heureux d’être présents à la nouvelle édition de Vivapoly. Nous serons sous les arches du Rolex Learning Center. Vivapoly est la fête du campus EPFL. Cet évènement est ouvert à tout le monde : des apprenti.e.s aux professeur.e.s, des doctorant.e.s aux administrateur.rice.s, sans oublier les étudiant.e.s ! 

Saint-Brieuc

 18-19-20 avril 2024

Sailowtech a été invité par l’association Chritian Le Provost Océaonographe à Saint-Brieuc pour échanger avec des étudiants français de classe préparatoires sur le sujet de la recherche scientifique. Nos membres assisteront également à des conférences sur des recherches océanographie puis tiendront un stand afin de présenter l’association . 

NOTRE AMBASSADRICE

Nous sommes fiers d’avoir à nos côtés Justine Mettraux et de pouvoir compter sur son soutien. Cette skipper suisse de renom, considérée comme l’une des meilleures navigatrices de sa génération a remporté deux éditions de The Ocean Race et prendra le départ du prochain Vendée Globe. Justine incarne parfaitement l’esprit de défi et de détermination de notre équipe. Son engagement indéfectible et son parcours remarquable sur les océans du monde entier font d’elle une source d’inspiration pour nous tous.

Portrait de Justine Mettraux

TÉMOIGNAGES

C’est extrêmement inspirant et novateur de développer un modèle qui permet d’entraîner d’autres étudiants dans la mise à disposition de compétences au service de la science et de l’exploration et d’une meilleure compréhension de l’océan tout en faisant de la sensibilisation !

Emmanuelle Périé-Bardout, Fondatrice d'Under The Pole et marraine de Sailowtech

La clé de la sauvegarde de nos océans réside dans la reconnexion des Hommes avec leur amour pour ses habitants. En naîtra alors un respect profond, menant à une naturelle volonté de protection.

Sailowtech : un dynamisme hors du commun à la hauteur des challenges à relever !

Guilhem Banc Prandi

Fondateur de WeSea.org et Coordinateur Scientifique du Transnational Red Sea Center

Au-delà d’une expédition qui fait rêver, les étudiant·es du projet Sailowtech proposent une pratique scientifique frugale, participative et low-tech, offrant ainsi une trajectoire concrète pour réintégrer la recherche scientifique dans les limites planétaires.

Travaillons à ce qu’un maximum de chercheur·ses leur emboitent le pas !

Michka Mélo

Consultant en design responsable a la VPT EPFL